February 24, 2017

Good morning, America! Yet another day in Trumpland commences, and the scandals are piling up today. The morning kicked off with Trump making a speech at CPAC that sounded like it was ripped straight from WWII: “I called the fake news the enemy of the people and they are.” Trump also informed me that, “Now you finally have a president, finally.”

Much to my surprise, I realized that perhaps three hundred years of American presidents had indeed been #alternativepresidents, and we had spent the last eight years under un-President Obama. Frankly, I am praying to return to the days of un-Presidents after just a month of Trump.

But then, CNN broke the story that Trump denied CNN, New York Times, Politico, The Los Angeles Times, and Buzzfeed access to a “White House Gaggle”. No, a White House Gaggle it is not a gathering of politically active geese, but in this case, I think a gathering of geese would know more about how to run the American government than a human gaggle composed of Trump allies. Frankly, I think CNN is absolutely relishing the opportunity to scare people, and based on the state my very sweaty armpits, I would say it’s working. That being said, I am hoping the media will realize that once again, Trump is veiling whatever awful policy move he is making by stirring up the media’s sense of sanctity around the First Amendment. Don’t get me wrong, is absolutely correct to be shocked, but peel back the layers.

Scandal two occurred when Reince Priebus and Sean Spicer continued to say that the White House did nothing wrong in secretly communicating with the FBI to “knock down” the Russiagate story. This is particularly scandalous because the FBI and CIA are supposed to function separately from the White House. The White House meddling in the business of the FBI or CIA is a huge red flag. As usual, the White House takes the: lets deny, deny, deny because then the lay person who already hates the media will trust us and not the media route. It’s unsettling, to say the least, but like I said yesterday, I think Trump putting his greasy orange fingers into the FBI’s pot indicates that he has something to hide. I also am a believer that the harder you clamp down on people, the more they want to rebel. I think Trump’s leaking problem will continue to get worse, but then again, maybe not.

Sources:

https://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/cnn-new-york-times-other-media-barred-from-white-house-briefing/2017/02/24/4c22f542-fad5-11e6-be05-1a3817ac21a5_story.html

 

Leave a Reply

