February 26, 2017

God rests on Sunday and so does Trump, but apparently not the God of Flubs because the Oscars really messed up nicely.

While Trump rested, the Oscars had the flub of the century on Sunday. I didn’t actually watch it myself, because I consider myself a responsible adult who tries to be in bed by 10:30 on a school night. However, according to the entire internet (is it possible to use the entire internet as my source?), the Oscars pulled a Beyoncé/Adele moment, or more aptly, a Trump/Hillary moment, when Warren Beatty, looking confused but also adorable, announced that La La Land had won the Oscar for Best Picture. As the director and producers and other various personnel are accepting the award for La La Land, people start floating around behind them, and then a producer (maybe?) says into the microphone, “Moonlight won for Best Picture. This is not a joke.” He insisted that it wasn’t a joke (in the age of Trump, everything feels like a joke), and the cast and crew for Moonlight come onto the stage. As one meme said, black people replaced all the white people on stage—a metaphor for America. In my humble opinion, I have to say that I am happy Moonlight won. In a classic Millenial thought-process, I have see La La Land, but not Moonlight. That being said, I think La La Land is the epitome of whiteness: white girl falls in love with white boy; white boy is obsessed with original jazz; the only black guy in the movie decides he wants to pop-ify jazz and subsequently defiles “true” jazz, and then white boy tells him so. I am seeing Moonlight this Saturday (hopefully for free, but I think it’s going to be insanely busy—people are going to want to see what all the literal hubbub is about), so I will update my opinion.

Anyways, I think that Oscars flub was nicely metaphorical for the current situation in America: nothing is out of the bounds of reality, and nothing is sacred. Viola Davis said it is time to exhume the stories of the past that we are forgetting, and I think there’s something really nice about that turn of phrase for this moment in American life. America wasn’t always great for everyone—it has never been great for everyone; it has only been striving towards greatness. And, hopefully, black people start taking center stage far more often. I think that the Academy Awards certainly redeemed themselves after their #OscarsSoWhite moment last year. But I also see hope: while the political situation in this country continues regressing, every other area of life seems to be marching ever forward towards greater diversity and inclusivity. It’s only a matter of time before politics has to catch up.

Sources:

http://www.vox.com/culture/2017/2/27/14748228/oscar-best-picture-moonlight-la-la-land-mixup-beatty-dunaway

Image: http://www.insideedition.com/headlines/21893-best-picture-flub-hands-moonlight-oscar-to-la-la-land-but-whos-to-blame

 

Leave a Reply

